Thomas Cattee

Thomas Cattee

Associé

Department
Criminalité economique
Number
+44 20 7724 4488
Email
tcattee@gherson.co.uk
Languages
Anglais

Biographie

Depuis son entrée chez Gherson Solicitors LLP, Thomas a mis à profit son expérience dans la conduite d’affaires internationales de premier plan en tant qu’avocat de la défense et de l’accusation pour conseiller les particuliers et les entreprises faisant l’objet de poursuite aux niveaux national multijuridictionnel et multi-agences et à des mesures réglementaires.

Tom possède une grande expérience de l’extradition, de l’entraide judiciaire et d’Interpol, en particulier dans le cadre de procédures transfrontalières faisant intervenir des allégations de criminalité financière complexe, de corruption et de blanchiment d’argent.

Grâce à sa compréhension approfondie de la technologie de la blockchain, des monnaies numériques et des cryptoactifs, Tom conseille également les particuliers et les entreprises à propos de la réglementation financière et de la conformité de ce domaine nouveau et perturbateur, et dans les cas à traiter sous l’angle des cryptoactifs. Il rédige des articles et fait régulièrement des commentaires sur ces sujets.

Tom a rejoint Gherson Solicitors LLP après avoir travaillé au Serious Fraud Office (SFO), où il a d’abord été conseiller en matière de divulgation dans le cadre des affaires LIBOR et de l’affaire Barclays Qatar. Ensuite, en tant qu’avocat de l’accusation, Tom a dirigé des aspects importants d’une enquête sur une fraude à grande échelle et des éléments d’une autre enquête mondiale. Au sein du SFO, Tom a apporté son expertise juridique des entretiens, des perquisitions, de l’extradition et de l’entraide judiciaire.

En 2016, Tom a obtenu une LLM (avec mention) en réglementation financière et conformité, et son mémoire portait sur la réglementation de la technologie blockchain.

Avant d’être au service du SFO, Tom était un avocat très expérimenté en de défense pénale et extradition (duty solicitor) au sein d’une équipe classée Band 1 par Chambers and Partners. À ce titre, Tom a dirigé la gestion de deux affaires d’extradition devant la Cour suprême.

Expérience notable

  • Pendant sa mission auprès de l’OFS :
    • En collaboration avec les agences étrangères de poursuites, Tom a pris en main les aspects juridiques importants d’enquêtes et négociations multijuridictionnelles qui ont abouti à l’accord de poursuites différées d’Airbus (DPA), le plus grand règlement global au monde dans une affaire de corruption.
  • Depuis qu’il a rejoint Gherson Solicitors LLP :
    • Tom a été conseiller de particuliers sur des questions relatives à Interpol, aux notices rouges et à la protection des données, et il est intervenu auprès d’Interpol dans diverses circonstances.
    • Il a conseillé une entreprise en réponse à une demande en vertu de la loi sur la protection des données et à une ordonnance de production de la Crown Court.
    • Conseils relatifs à une ordonnance de gel des biens immobiliers du SFO au Royaume-Uni dans le cadre d’une affaire complexe et multijuridictionnelle concernant des allégations de pots-de-vin et de corruption.
    • Conseil dans le cadre d’une ordonnance sur la richesse inexpliquée.
    • Conseil dans le cadre d’un litige multi-juridictionnel lié aux cryptomonnaies.
    • Conseils concernant les procédures de conformité en matière de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent, notamment en ce qui concerne les cryptoactifs et les jetons non fongibles.
    • Conseiller de nombreuses personnes dont les comptes bancaires ont été gelés et qui ont fait des démarches.
    • Conseil sur des ordonnances de gel de comptes.

Admissions

  • Admis comme avocat en Angleterre et au Pays de Galles: 2011

Reconnaissances

Publications

 

 

Reviews

Chambers & Partners, 2024

”Thomas Cattee is well known for his handling of extradition cases, including those involving allegations of financial crime and corruption. He has experience in matters involving Interpol Red Notices.”

Latest News

View All

CONTACTEZ-NOUS

Thomas Cattee

Thomas Cattee

Partner

Department
White Collar Crime
Number
+44 20 7724 4488
Email
tcattee@gherson.co.uk
Languages
English

Biography

Since joining Gherson Solicitors LLP, Tom has utilised his experience in leading aspects of high-profile international cases as both a defence and prosecution lawyer to advise both individuals and corporations subject to multi-agency domestic and multi-jurisdictional proceedings and regulatory actions.

Tom brings extensive experience advising in relation to extradition, mutual legal assistance and INTERPOL, specifically in relation to cross-border proceedings involving allegations of complex financial crime, bribery and corruption, and money laundering.

With a thorough understanding of blockchain technology, digital currencies and cryptoassets, Tom also advises both individuals and corporations regarding the financial regulation and compliance of this novel and disruptive area, and in cases that have a cryptoasset angle. Tom regularly writes and comments on these topics.

Tom joined Gherson Solicitors LLP from the Serious Fraud Office (“SFO”), where he initially worked as disclosure counsel on LIBOR cases and the Barclays Qatar case. Then, as a prosecution lawyer, Tom led significant aspects of a large-scale fraud investigation and elements of another global investigation. At the SFO, Tom provided legal expertise in relation to interviews, searches, extradition and mutual legal assistance.

In 2016 Tom undertook an LLM (Distinction) in Financial Regulation and Compliance, and his dissertation focused on the regulation of blockchain technology.

Prior to joining the SFO Tom, was a highly experienced criminal and extradition defence lawyer (duty solicitor) in a Chambers and Partners Band 1 rated team. In this role, Tom led the management of two extradition cases before the Supreme Court.

Notable experience

  • Whilst at the SFO:
    • Tom led, in collaboration with overseas prosecuting agencies, significant legal aspects of the multi-jurisdictional investigations and negotiations resulting in the Airbus Deferred Prosecution Agreement (“DPA”), the world’s largest global settlement for bribery and corruption.
  • Since joining Gherson Solicitors LLP:
    • Advised individuals regarding INTERPOL, Red Notices and data protection issues, and made representations to INTERPOL in a variety of circumstances.
    • Advised a company responding to a request under data protection law and a Crown Court production order.
    • Advised in relation to an SFO UK property freezing order against the backdrop of a complex multi-jurisdictional matter concerning allegations of bribery and corruption.
    • Advised in the context of an Unexplained Wealth Order.
    • Advised in relation to litigation in a multi-jurisdictional cryptocurrency-related dispute.
    • Advised regarding anti-money laundering compliance procedures, including in relation to crypto-assets and non-fungible tokens.
    • Advised numerous individuals who have had their bank accounts frozen and made representations.
    • Advised in relation to account freezing orders.

Admissions

  • Admitted as a Solicitor in England and Wales: 2011

Recognitions

Publications

 

 

Reviews

Chambers & Partners, 2024

”Thomas Cattee is well known for his handling of extradition cases, including those involving allegations of financial crime and corruption. He has experience in matters involving Interpol Red Notices.”

contact us

"*" indicates required fields