21 Mar 2017, 43 mins ago

Plans to expand the Registered Traveller service to Hong Kong, Singapore, South Korea and Taiwan have now been implemented, meaning that nationals of these countries who frequently travel to the UK can now benefit from an improved traveller experience. Becoming a member of this service enables individuals to pass through UK border control faster. 

The countries covered by the Registered Traveller Service are now as follows:

– Australia

– Canada

– Hong Kong (only if you have a Special Administrative Region passport)

– Japan

– New Zealand

– South Korea

– Singapore

– Taiwan (only if your passport has your personal ID number on the photo page)

– the USA.

Announcing the expansion of the scheme on 25 January, Immigration Minister James Brokenshire said that the Registered Traveller service will improve the experience at UK borders for the thousands of passengers from Hong Kong, Singapore, South Korea and Taiwan whom the UK welcomes every year. The service will benefit business travellers, students and regular visitors to the UK. There are currently 40,000 members who are part of the scheme.

In order to be accepted onto the scheme, you must be over 18, have a visa or have visited the UK four times or more in the last 24 months. Potential members must apply online via UK Border Force officers then undertake security checks, after which individuals are provisionally accepted onto the scheme. Membership is completed the next time they visit the UK. 

It costs £70 to apply to use the service for 1 year. You will get £50 back if your application is unsuccessful.

Members of the scheme will benefit from using the ePassport gates and Fast Track UK/EU controls at Heathrow and other participating airports and will not need to complete a landing card on arrival to the UK. These benefits will also be available to Registered Travellers at Eurostar terminals in Paris, Lille and Brussels.