Skip to main content

Alert

请注意,本律所未受到Kier集团或Kier有限公司的委托。如果您被要求与我们联系,以确保与该机构的合作,请格外谨慎处理。

联系我们

若您需英国移民法,国籍法和欧盟法的法律意见,请联系我们。

联系我们

领导全球创新——英国的新计划

作者: Gherson Immigration

2021年7月,商业、能源与产业战略部发布了《英国创新战略——通过创造创新引领未来》。该文件提供了关于数个新移民领域的进一步信息以及对现有移民途径的一些修正议案,旨在进一步推动英国 “恢复到更好的状态”并且成为一个全球创新中心的使命。

该文件明确指出创建全球创新中心这样的环境需要国际合作和人才,通过移民改革积极寻求促成创建这样的环境,其目的是使英国成为最引人注目的创新人才聚集地。

为此,基于政府在2030年之前减少英国“人才流失”和在2035年之前实现其更大创新的愿景,以下移民提案被提出: 

  • “我们正在通过择优制体系向来自世界各地的顶尖人才开放我们的国境,而非是基于国籍国体系。”
  • “我们正在向早期职业创新者提供一个好机会,使英国可能成为创业者或创新者最好的家园。”

全球人才签证途径

英国全球人才签证途径是近期被推出的面向研究、学术、艺术和文化或数字技术领域的那些引领者或潜在引领者的一种签证途径。

今年5月,政府放宽了该签证途径的申请资格,允许那些获得全球公认的奖项(例如,奥斯卡或诺贝尔奖)的人士自动获得该签证途径的申请资格。令人高兴的是,该奖项名单仍将继续扩充,尽管其门槛仍然很高。 

目前,那些还尚未获得此类奖项,但被公认为其专业领域内的引领者或新兴引领者的人士可以向英国批准的认证机构申请认证,然后根据该签证途径申请签证。

高潜力人才途径

高潜力人才签证是技术移民签证类别中的一个新签证途径,旨在为具有高潜力的国际流动人才提供一个尽可能简化的赴英签证途径。

该签证途径将面向毕业于全球顶尖大学的申请者。政府正在探索将该签证途径的申请资格范围扩大到其他具有高潜力特征的对象。然而,关于“全球顶尖大学”和“高潜力特征”的定义目前还尚未被公布。

值得注意的是,该签证途径将不需要申请者已经收到英国工作的录用通知,因此其旨在为人才提供更多的灵活性去开展工作、转换工作或更换雇主,从而增加这些人才对英国经济做出的贡献。

值得高兴的是,在该签证途径中,签证持有人可能有机会申请永久居留权。关于英国内务部新推出“高潜力人才”签证的更多信息,请查阅佳森律师事务所移民团队的网页。

快速成长期企业员工途径

政府提议其将推出一项快速成长期企业员工签证途径,旨在支持英国境内正处于快速成长期的企业,帮助那些已经从“合格处于快速成长期的公司”获得高技能工作机会并且其工资达到“要求的工资水平”的人才进行申请。那些希望通过该签证途径给员工提供担保的处于快速成长期的企业将能够通过快速验证流程申请获得使用该签证途径的资质。符合条件的快速成长期公司必须能够证明其在三年期间的年平均收入或就业增长率超过20%,并且在这三年之初就有至少有10名员工。

政府正在考虑那些能够证明“其预计在未来几年会有强劲增长”的处于快速成长期的企业是否也可以有申请担保的资格,然而相关标准还尚未出台。该签证途径将允许符合条件的申请者在英国灵活地工作、转换工作或更换雇主,并在满足特定要求的情况下,将可以在英国申请永居。

新创新者途径

新创新者途径旨在允许有才能的创新者和创业者在英国创建和经营他们的企业。目前,新创新者途径要求申请者已经被英国批准的认证机构认证,并且持有一定的资金来维持生活开销,同时还要有一个可行的、可扩展的和创新的商业计划。

政府目前正在重新考虑创新者途径,旨在作出以下改变:

  • 简化商业资格标准,改变目前的要求——申请者只需要证明其企业“在英国具有很高的增长潜力并能为英国创作价值”并且证明该企业是一个“创新型”企业。这些简化标准的定义将需要在公布后被审查,才能具体确定其与目前的要求有何不同。
  • 英国政府正在为那些商业理念足够先进、足以与国际一流竞争者媲美的申请者研究一种“快速、宽松的”认证流程。已被国际贸易部“全球企业家计划”录取的申请者将自动获得该签证途径下的申请资格。
  • 改变投资资金要求:申请者将不再需要证明拥有至少50,000英镑的可供投资的资金才能在该签证途径中申请签证。但是,证明的责任将转移至申请人的相关认证机构,该认证机构必须确信申请者有足够资金就其具体的商业计划开展业务。政府还打算取消对进行申请中所提议的商业计划以外的工作的限制,从而允许成功申请者在发展其业务的同时从事其他工作,这预示着将放宽目前对这种签证途径的限制。

新全球商业活动签证

新全球商业活动签证旨在将各类工作签证途径的各个类别——例如旧的公司内部调动工作签证途径和海外商业代表签证途径——合并为一个尚未完全公布的“全球商业活动”途径,该签证途径旨在迎合 "进出口贸易相关的调动"。

该途径旨在给予海外企业和创新公司更大的灵活性可以将其员工调动到英国,从而实现建立和扩大他们的业务的目标。

毕业生途径

毕业生签证途径已于2021年7月开放,该途径授予拥有合格英国学位的国际学生在完成课程后在英国居留2年的许可(完成英国博士学位的学生将获得3年的许可)。针对这种签证途径限制很少,成功申请者将被允许在其毕业后在英国工作。政府希望该签证途径将有助于确保世界各地来英国学习的“最优秀和最聪明的人才”选择留在英国,同时也让学生有时间为英国创新做出贡献。

除了现有的那些针对已获得英国工作录取通知的人士的技术工作者签证途径之外,政府将推出上述新发布的签证途径,并且会对一些现有签证途径进行改动。

这些移民提案非常令人欣喜,正如该文件的整体基调。佳森律师事务所将积极地研究上述提议在公布后的具体政策,并将密切关注最新的进展。

佳森律师事务所就英国技术移民的各个方面拥有丰富经验,并且能够在公司和企业移民事务为客户提供协助。如果您就已发布的博客有任何问题或是希望与我们讨论您的具体情况,请您随时联系我们以获取建议,或者向我们发送邮件,或在推特脸书领英上关注我们以获取最新资讯。

 

本博客中的信息仅为一般信息,并不全面完整或旨在提供任何法律意见。尽管我们会尽所能地确保提供的信息和法律在博客发布之日是最新的内容,但应该强调的是,随着时间的推移,它并不一定反映当今现行适用的法律。佳森律师事务所对访问或依赖本博客中包含的信息可能引致的损失不负责任。如果您希望就当今适用的法律寻求法律建议,请随时与我们联系。佳森律师事务所会在与客户签署书面协议后提供法律意见。

©Gherson 2021

联系我们

若您需英国移民法,国籍法和欧盟法的法律意见,请联系我们。

联系我们

Skip to main content

Alert

Please note we are not instructed by the Kier Group, or Kier LTD. If you have been asked to contact us in order to secure work with this organisation, please exercise extreme caution.

Contact Us

For advice on immigration,
nationality or human rights,
please contact us now.

Click here to subscribe to weekly updates for our news and blogs.

The UK's New Plans to Lead Global Innovation

Posted by: Gherson Immigration

In July 2021, the Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy published their UK Innovation Strategy - Leading the future by creating it, which has provided further information regarding several areas of new immigration, and some proposed amendments to existing immigration routes, aimed at furthering the UK’s mission to “build back better” and become a global hub for innovation.

The paper specifically recognises that international cooperation and talent is required to create such an environment, and actively seeks to facilitate this through immigration reforms aimed at making the UK ‘the most exciting place for innovation talent’.

To this end, the following immigration proposals have been put forward as part of the Government’s vision to reduce Britain’s ‘brain-drain’ by 2030 and achieve their larger innovation vision by 2035. 

  • We are opening our borders to top talent from everywhere in the world, via a merit-based system rather than one based on country of origin.”
  • We are making a bold offer to early career innovators, making the UK the best possible home for those starting out in a career in innovation.”

The Global Talent visa route

The Global Talent visa route is a recently launched visa route open to those leaders, or potential leaders, in the fields of research, academia, arts and culture, or digital technology.

In May of this year, the Government expanded the criteria for this route, allowing those who have won globally recognized prizes (for example, an Oscar or Nobel Prize) to automatically qualify under the route. Encouragingly, this list of eligible prizes continues to be expanded, but the bar continues to be at a high level. 

Currently those who may not hold such awards, but who are recognised as leaders or emerging leaders in their field, can apply for endorsement from an approved UK endorsement body, and thereafter apply under this visa route.

The High Potential Individual route

The High Potential Individual route is a new introduction to the skilled migration immigration categories, with the intention to make it as simple as possible for those who are internationally mobile and who demonstrate high potential, to come to the UK.

Eligibility under the route will be open to applicants who have graduated from a top global university, and the Government is exploring the possibility to expand the scope of eligibility for this route to other characteristics of high potential. However, the definition of a ‘top global university, and ‘characteristics of high potential’ have yet to be provided.

Interestingly, this route will not require the applicant to hold a UK job offer, therefore intending to give individuals the flexibility to work, switch jobs or employers and therefore increase their contributions to the UK economy.

Encouragingly, it is expected that that this route will also lead to settlement in the UK. Read more from Gherson’s Immigration team about the New ‘High Potential’ Visa announced by the UK Home Office.

A Scale-Up route

A Scale-Up route has been proposed, with the goal of supporting UK scale-ups by targeting talented individuals who have secured a high-skilled job offer from a ‘qualifying scale-up’ at the ‘required salary level’ to apply. Those ‘scale-ups’ wishing to participate in sponsorship will be able to apply through a fast-track verification process to use the route. In order to be eligible, scale-ups must be able to demonstrate an annual average revenue or employment growth rate over a three-year period greater than 20%, and a minimum of 10 employees at the start of the three-year period.

The Government is exploring whether scale-ups who can demonstrate an “expectation of strong growth in future years” may also qualify following a review, however the criteria for this expected growth is forthcoming. This route will allow those eligible to work, switch jobs or employers, and will lead to settlement in the UK, subject to specific requirements.

A revitalised Innovator route

A revitalised Innovator route intends to allow talented innovators and entrepreneurs to create and run their business in the UK. Currently the Innovator route requires the applicant to have been endorsed by an approved UK endorsement body, hold a level of maintenance funds, and have a viable, scalable, and innovative business proposal.

The crux of the route is to generate businesses in the UK that are venture-backed or harnesses innovative technologies which create jobs for UK workers whilst boosting growth.

The Government is currently reviewing the Innovator route, and intends to make the following changes:

  • Simplify and streamline the business eligibility criteria, altering the current requirements to require applicants to simply demonstrate that their business venture has a ‘high potential to grow and add value to the UK' and is ‘innovative’. The definitions of these simplified criteria will need to be reviewed upon publication, in order to specifically ascertain how they differ from the current requirements.
  • The Government is exploring a ‘fast-track, lighter touch’ endorsement process for those applicants whose business ideas are advanced enough to match their best in class international competitors, and those applicants who have been accepted on to the Department for International Trade’s Global Entrepreneur Programme will automatically be eligible under this route.
  • Altering the investment funds requirement, so that applicants will no longer need to evidence at least £50,000 in available capital in order to be able to apply for under this route. However, the responsibility will be passed to the applicant’s relevant endorsing body, which must be satisfied that the applicant has ‘sufficient funds’ to grow their business, contextually within their specific business plan. The Government also intends to remove the restriction for work outside of the proposed business plan, thus allowing successful applicants to work whilst developing their business, heralding an encouraging easement of the current restrictions imposed upon this visa route.

The new Global Business Mobility visa

The new Global Business Mobility visa intends to combine several aspects of the work visa wheelhouse, such as the old intra-company transfer visa route and the representative of an overseas business route, into a yet to be fully announced, “Global Business Mobility” route intended to cater to ‘import and export related secondments’.

The route aims to allow overseas businesses and innovative companies greater flexibility in transferring employees to the UK, with the purpose of establishing and expanding their businesses.

The Graduate Route

The Graduate Route, which has been open since July 2021, grants international students with qualifying UK degrees, 2 years of permission to stay in the UK post-completion of their course, and 3 years for those who have completed a UK PhD. There are few restrictions associated with this visa route, and successful applicants will be allowed to work in the UK post-graduation. The Government hopes that this route will help ensure that the ‘best and brightest’ from across the world who come to the UK to study, will choose to remain, whilst also providing students with time to contribute to UK innovation.

The above newly announced routes and proposed amendments to some existing routes, will be introduced in addition to the currently existing skilled worker routes for those with a UK job offer.

The immigration proposals are encouraging, as is the overall tone of the paper. This office will be interested to explore the specific wording of the above proposals, once published, and will continue to provide updates accordingly.

Gherson has extensive experience in all aspects of skilled worker migration, and is able to assist in relation to both corporate and entrepreneurial immigration matters. Should you have any questions in relation to this blog, please do not hesitate to contact us for advice, send us an e-mail, or alternatively, follow us on TwitterFacebook, or LinkedIn to stay-up-to-date.

 

The information in this blog is for general information purposes only and does not purport to be comprehensive or to provide legal advice. Whilst every effort is made to ensure the information and law is current as of the date of publication it should be stressed that, due to the passage of time, this does not necessarily reflect the present legal position. Gherson accepts no responsibility for loss which may arise from accessing or reliance on information contained in this blog. For formal advice on the current law please don’t hesitate to contact Gherson. Legal advice is only provided pursuant to a written agreement, identified as such, and signed by the client and by or on behalf of Gherson.

©Gherson 2021

Contact Us

For advice on immigration, nationality, extradition or human rights, please contact us now.

Contact Us