在英国工作

Tier 2 employment visa

英国政府频繁就可以在英国工作的签证类型进行修改。目前的类别解释如下。

通常,人们仍谈论说拿"工作签证",然而,这一说法,随着计分制体系2级的引入,已经成为过去。一些工作签证仍旧存在,但仅限于下列:

a. 遗留案件 - 新体系被推出前已经获得了工作签证的人士。

b. 保加利亚和罗马尼亚国民在英国工作的权利受限至2014年1月1日。

除此以外,被准予在英国工作的非英国公民被分为下列类别:

a. 欧洲经济区和瑞士国民。欧洲经济区包括所有欧盟成员国,以及冰岛,列支敦士登和挪威。所有这些国家和瑞士的国民有权且不受限制地来英国工作。唯一的例外是,保加利亚和罗马尼亚的雇员要受到特殊的限制。这些限制预计将于2014年1月1日被取消。克罗地亚预计于2013年7月加入欧盟。最初,限制会和适用于保加利亚和罗马尼亚两国的类似。

b. 计分制体系下的雇员。这是非欧盟经济区公民可以在英国工作的主要类别。

c. 土耳其国民。尽管土耳其不是欧盟经济区成员,土耳其公民可以通过欧洲共同体协会协议在英国创业。就此,他们必须根据欧洲共同体协议商业类别提出申请。

d. 祖先签证。至少有一位英国出生(外)祖父的17岁以上的英联邦公民可以根据祖先签证申请在英国工作。

e. 访问者。商务访问者,允许带薪的访客,潜在企业家,演艺人员和体育工作者都可以获得短期签证进入英国以从事一些适当的工作(受适当条件的限制)。这些签证不可以转为长期。

f. 学生。他们来英国主要是为了学习而不是工作。学生签证因此不应该被看成是工作签证。在学习期间是否可以同时工作,要取决于他们申请签证的时间,学习课程的程度,希望从事的工作,什么时间段,以及做多久。工作的条件是要受到严格的限制,而且政府机构对于那些打破学生签证条款的学生非常不看好,通常来说,学生在上学期间不可以从事全职的工作,而在假期可以。可以工作的小时数以及以什么形式工作取决于他们攻读的课程。那些在英国高等学府学习国家资格证书框架六级或更高的学生通常可以在学期期间每周工作20个小时,而在此级别之下的学生是每周10个小时。规则在不断变化,学生一定要在签证被准予后核查附在签证上的条款。

如果您就在英国工作有任何移民,请随时与我们的专业移民律师联系,或者拨打我们的电话+44(0)20 7724 4488以获得更多的相关信息。

Working in the UK

Tier 2 employment visa

The different categories under which an immigrant can work in the UK have been subject to regular change. The current categories are explained below.

Commonly, people still talk of obtaining a "work permit", however, this terminology is now obsolescent, with work permits being for the most part superseded by Tier 2 of the Points-Based System. Some work permits still exist but these are exclusively limited to:

a. Legacy cases - those who were already on a work permit before the new system was introduced.

b. Bulgarian and Romanian nationals whose rights to work in the UK remain limited until 1 January 2014.

These apart, non-UK citizens allowed to work in the UK are split into the categories below:

a. European Economic Area (EEA) and Swiss Nationals. The EEA comprises all countries of the European Union as well as Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. Nationals of all these countries and Switzerland are entitled to come and work in the UK without restriction. The only exceptions concern Bulgarian and Romanian workers who can only work under specific conditions. These restrictions are due to be lifted on 1 January 2014. Croatia is due to join the European Community in July 2013. Initially, restrictions similar to those applied to Bulgarian and Romanian workers will be in place.

b. Points-Based System Workers. This is the main category under which non-EEA citizens can work in the UK.

c. Turkish Nationals. Although not part of the European Economic Area, Turkish citizens can apply to establish themselves in business in the UK by virtue of the European Community Association Agreement (ECAA). To do so they must apply in the ECAA business category.

d. Ancestry visas. Commonwealth citizens over 17 with at least one British-born grandparent can apply for an ancestry visa which allows the applicant to work in the UK.

e. Visitors. Business visitors, permitted paid engagement visitors, prospective entrepreneurs, entertainers and sportspeople may all obtain short-term visas for entering the UK to conduct limited amounts of work, subject to certain conditions. These visas do not provide long-term employment.

f. Students. Students come to the UK primarily to study, not to work. A student visa should not therefore be treated primarily as a work visa. Whether or not they can work whilst studying will depend on when they applied for the visa, the level of the course of study, the work they wish to undertake, when they wish to do it and for how long. Conditions attached to working are strictly controlled and the authorities take a very dim view of those who breach the terms of their student visas.The normal rule is that students cannot work full time during term-time, but may do so in vacations.The hours they can work and in what capacity will depend on the course they are undertaking. Those attending NQF Level 6 or above courses at UK higher education institutions can usually work for 20 hours a week in term-time, those studying below that level - for 10 hours a week. Rules are subject to change and students must check the terms attached to their visa when it is granted.

Do you have questions about working in the UK? Get in touch with one of our expert immigration lawyers or call us on +44(0)20 7724 4488 for more information.

We use cookies to ensure that you get the best experience of our website. By continuing to use this website you agree to this use of cookies. You can, however, change the cookie settings in your browser at any time. Further details of our cookie policy can be found here Close