词汇表

A2 2个正式加入欧盟的国家
'2个正式加入欧盟国家'的缩写:保加利亚和罗马尼亚,他们于2007年1月1日加入欧盟。

A8 8个正式加入欧盟的国家
"8个正式加入欧盟国家"的缩写:捷克共和国,爱沙尼亚,匈牙利,拉脱维亚,立陶宛,波兰,斯洛伐克和斯洛文尼亚。2004年5月1日加入欧盟的10个国家中有8个国家的国民在英国工作的权利要受到限制。这些限制可能延续至2011年,但也可能提前解除。对于2004年加入欧盟的另外两个国家塞浦路斯和马耳他,他们的公民在英国工作的权利不受限制。

Accession 正式加入欧盟
被用来描述一个国家加入欧盟的过程。

Adjudicator 审裁员
对听审移民和避难上诉案件官员的旧称。这些人被重新命名为移民法官,他们从前听审的裁判所"移民上诉委员会"现已被更名为"移民与庇护裁判所"。

Administrative court 行政法院
('行政法院')英国高级法院的分支,国家法庭的第一层级,特别处理司法审查的申请。

Aliens 外国人
它在英国移民法和国籍法中有特殊的含义。目前,外国人是指非英国公民,非英联邦公民,不受英国保护的人士和非爱尔兰共和国公民。在历史上的不同时期,不同组群的人们曾被划分为外国人。

Ancestry Status 世系地位
在移民法中被用来描述17岁或以上有英国出生祖父的英联邦公民的身份。他们可以根据此关系申请来英工作,并最终获得定居英国的权利。

Association Agreement 联合协议
欧盟与另外一个国家签订的贸易协定。此术语特别被用在移民法的协议中以为非欧盟国家的公民提供在欧洲经济区从事商业活动和自雇职业的机会。曾经有过一些联合协议是与现在已经加入欧盟的国家签署的,例如保加利亚和罗马尼亚,但现在的主要协议是与土耳其。

Asylum and Immigration Tribunal (AIT) 避难与移民仲裁法庭
听审避难和移民上诉案件的仲裁法庭。避难与移民仲裁法庭的成员被称为移民法官。其旧称为移民上诉委员会。旧移民上诉委员会被分为审裁员和移民上诉仲裁法庭。

Glossary

A2
Short for "Accession 2”: Bulgaria and Romania, who joined the European Union (EU) on 1 January 2007.

A8
Short for "Accession 8”: the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia. The eight of the ten countries joining the European Union (EU) on 1 May 2004 whose nationals’ rights to work in the UK have been limited. Limitations on working in the UK can continue until 2011, but may be lifted before then. No limitations were imposed on the rights of citizens of Cyprus and Malta, the other two 2004 accession states, to work.

Accession
Used to describe the process of a country joining the European Union (EU).

Adjudicator
The old name for people hearing appeals in immigration and asylum cases. These people have been renamed immigration judges and the tribunal in which they sit, originally called the Immigration Appellate Authority (IAA) has been renamed the Asylum and Immigration Tribunal (AIT).

Administrative court
(‘Admin Court’) A division of the UK High Court, the first level of national courts, which deals in particular with applications for judicial review.

Aliens
This has a particular meaning in UK immigration and nationality law. Currently, aliens are people who are not British citizens, Commonwealth citizens, British Protected Persons or citizens of the Republic of Ireland. At different times in history, different groups of people have been categorised as aliens.

Ancestry Status
A term used in the Immigration Rules for the status of Commonwealth citizens aged 17 or over with a UK-born grandparent, who can make an application on the basis of this relationship to come to the UK for work, and ultimately for settlement.

Association Agreement
A trade treaty between the European Union (EU) and another country. The term is particularly used in immigration law for agreements that give individuals of the non-EU country opportunities to undertake business and self-employment in countries of the EEA. There were association agreements with states that have now joined the European Union (EU), such as Bulgaria and Romania, but the main agreement is now with Turkey.

Asylum and Immigration Tribunal (AIT)
The tribunal that hears appeals against refusals in asylum and immigration cases. Members of the AIT are called immigration judges. It was previously called the Immigration Appellate Authority (IAA). The old IAA was divided into adjudicators and the Immigration Appeals Tribunal (IAT).

Asylum seeker
A term used to refer to a person requesting recognition as a refugee in the UK, whose application has not yet been decided. In some specific contexts, the definition includes people seeking other protection, for example under the European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR).

We use cookies to ensure that you get the best experience of our website. By continuing to use this website you agree to this use of cookies. You can, however, change the cookie settings in your browser at any time. Further details of our cookie policy can be found here Close