Short for "Accession 2”: Bulgaria and Romania, who joined the European Union (EU) on 1 January 2007.

Short for "Accession 8”: the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia. The eight of the ten countries joining the European Union (EU) on 1 May 2004 whose nationals’ rights to work in the UK have been limited. Limitations on working in the UK can continue until 2011, but may be lifted before then. No limitations were imposed on the rights of citizens of Cyprus and Malta, the other two 2004 accession states, to work.

Used to describe the process of a country joining the European Union (EU).

The old name for people hearing appeals in immigration and asylum cases. These people have been renamed immigration judges and the tribunal in which they sit, originally called the Immigration Appellate Authority (IAA) has been renamed the Asylum and Immigration Tribunal (AIT).

Administrative court
(‘Admin Court’) A division of the UK High Court, the first level of national courts, which deals in particular with applications for judicial review.

This has a particular meaning in UK immigration and nationality law. Currently, aliens are people who are not British citizens, Commonwealth citizens, British Protected Persons or citizens of the Republic of Ireland. At different times in history, different groups of people have been categorised as aliens.

Ancestry Status
A term used in the Immigration Rules for the status of Commonwealth citizens aged 17 or over with a UK-born grandparent, who can make an application on the basis of this relationship to come to the UK for work, and ultimately for settlement.

Association Agreement
A trade treaty between the European Union (EU) and another country. The term is particularly used in immigration law for agreements that give individuals of the non-EU country opportunities to undertake business and self-employment in countries of the EEA. There were association agreements with states that have now joined the European Union (EU), such as Bulgaria and Romania, but the main agreement is now with Turkey.

Asylum and Immigration Tribunal (AIT)
The tribunal that hears appeals against refusals in asylum and immigration cases. Members of the AIT are called immigration judges. It was previously called the Immigration Appellate Authority (IAA). The old IAA was divided into adjudicators and the Immigration Appeals Tribunal (IAT).

Asylum seeker
A term used to refer to a person requesting recognition as a refugee in the UK, whose application has not yet been decided. In some specific contexts, the definition includes people seeking other protection, for example under the European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR).

We use cookies to ensure that you get the best experience of our website. By continuing to use this website you agree to this use of cookies. You can, however, change the cookie settings in your browser at any time. Further details of our cookie policy can be found here Close